ISMAANA Scholarship Programs

December 16, 2018 0 comments ISMAANA Admin Categories Patrika Q4 2018

Currently ISMAANA has two types of ongoing scholarship programs.

1) Merit Scholarships – Eight merit scholarships were started in 2015 to recognize top two students in the final year of four earth science branches based on first three years of academic performance. Scholarship recipients for 2018-19 academic year are currently being selected at IIT (ISM) and will be awarded during 4th quarter 2018 at an award ceremony at IIT (ISM). We are currently raising funds to expand these merit scholarships to more branches of study.

2) Merit cum means scholarships – We are starting 2nd year of the merit cum means scholarship program. Currently ISMAANA has alumni commitment for 47 such scholarships that are based on family income and academic performance. Amount of these scholarships range from $1000/year to $1370/year. These scholarships are intended to mainly cover student expenses related to room, board, and transportation. Scholarship donors with number of committed scholarships in parenthesis are: Naresh Vashisht (20), Avinash Ahuja (10), Suresh Chugh (4), Mohinder Gulati (1), Pramod Thakur (1), Jatinder Tuli (1) Dipak Sarkar (1), Zoeb Mogri (1), Shishir Agrawal (1), Yugal Gupta (2), Mahendra Verma (2), Atul Arya (1), Sriram Muralidharan (1), and Raj Prasad (1). As news of these scholarships spread more alumni are coming forward to offer these scholarships to needy meritorious students. If you need more information about these scholarships please call Dipak Sarkar at 714 826-2810 or write to

During the new academic year (2018-19), 8 students who qualified under phase 2 of the scholarship process completed in May 2018 were given scholarships. Additionally 8 students who got scholarship last year qualify for the scholarship in the new academic based on maintaining their grade point average. For the remaining 31 scholarships IIT (ISM) has published a notice on its website inviting application for these scholarships. We expect to complete awarding remaining scholarships by the end of the year 2018.