Awards and Achievements

June 16, 2018 one comment ISMAANA Admin Categories Patrika Q2 2018

Distinguished Service Award and SME President Citation Award
Dr Abani R Samal holds PhD from SIU Carbondale, DIC & MS degree from Imperial College, London and M Tech (Mineral Exploration) degree from IIT (ISM) Dhanbad, India. He is in mining industry since 1996. Currently he is the principal and owner of GeoGlobal, LLC and providing consulting services to exploration and mining companies worldwide. Mineral deposit evaluation, applied geostatistics and mine-mill reconciliation are his technical specializations. He also provides training programs to industry professionals and academic researchers.

Abani R Samal is a Registered Member of SME. For past several years he has been active in several standing committees (Research Committee, GPAC and award committees), strategic committees (EPDSC and Products and Services) of SME. He is the Past Chair of the industrial minerals and aggregates division. Dr Samal is an active contributing member of the Resource and Reserve committee of SME. Dr Samal is a representative of CRIRSCO for India.

Neel Gupta, a doctoral student in the Department of Mining Engineering at West Virginia University, is one of the SME’s Syd S. and Felicia F. Peng Ground Control in Mining Scholarship recipients for 2018. The fellowship award is $5,000. He has also received the SME-WAAIME scholarship for the academic year 2015-2016 and 2016-2017. He graduated from Indian School of Mines Dhanbad with the Dual Degree (B.Tech + M.Tech) in Mining Engineering in the year 2015. He also studied at Aalto University, Finland as one semester exchange student. His doctoral research is the identification of fundamental mechanism, responsible for the time-dependent deformation of shale in underground coal mines.

Congratulations to below recipients for securing scholarships award from SME:

  • Coal and Energy Division Scholarship: Rishabh Pratap Singh Gurjar
  • John Sidney Marshall Scholarship: Prashant Kashyap, Shikhar Singh, Vikrant Verma, Shivam Singh, Akash, and Prashant Dev Ratrey