President’s Note

June 16, 2018 one comment ISMAANA Admin Categories Patrika Q2 2018

Dear ISMAANA members:
Greetings from the new executive committee and newly appointed board members. We are excited to have this opportunity to serve our alumni and our alma mater. We appreciate the outgoing board members: Dr. Raja Ramani, Ajay Kumar, Amit Prakash, Vinay Mishra and Rajesh Raitani for their many years of service to ISMAANA.

Four alumnus joined the new board. Those include Anoop Poddar (’94 PE), Ravi Batra (’67 Geoph), Mintu Bose (’68 PE), and Dr. Anil Kumar (’65 PE). We welcome all new board members.

Several programs were initiated during the last 3 years. Details of a successful merit scholarship program as well as start of a merit cum means scholarship programs is covered in more detail in the scholarship section.

An award program to recognize outstanding teachers and researchers in IIT (ISM) is being formalized and expected to be put in place during 2018-19 academic year.

We are in the process of enhancing alumni/ alma mater interaction through alumni visits and conducting on site seminars on special topics at IIT (ISM).

ISMAANA newsletter is being published on a regular basis to exchange communication with our North America based alumni. Our thanks to Vishal Gupta, ISMAANA Secretary for this sincere effort.

An alumni database development program is ongoing for last two years with dedicated efforts of Gaurav Seth. If you know of any alumnus who is not receiving our newsletter, please subscribe his email on the right or request him/her to subscribe.

We plan to initiate a fund-raising program in 2018 to enhance our endowment funds to continue the merit scholarship program and initiate the excellence award programs for teaching and research at IIT (ISM) as well as any other future initiatives to help our alma mater. We seek your cooperation and help in this regard.

If you have any feedback to improve ISMAANA’s role or would like to contribute articles or news events or any other comments, please send us a note.
Thank you.
Dipak Sarkar
President ISMAANA (’67 PE)