ISMAANA Scholarship Programs

July 7, 2021 0 comments ISMAANA Admin Categories Patrika Q2 2021

Currently ISMAANA has two types of ongoing scholarship and academic excellence programs.

Academic Excellence Awards – Eight final year students were chosen for ISMAANA academic excellence awards in December 2020. ISMAANA started these awards in 2015 to recognize top two students from four earth science branches based on the first three years of academic performance. Starting new academic year in August 2021, these eight academic excellence awards shall be awarded to top 8 students in four earth science branches and four major departments of electrical, mechanical, electronic engineering and Computer science.

Merit cum means scholarships – These scholarships started in 2017 and currently ISMAANA has alumni commitment for 52 such scholarships that are based on family income and academic performance. Amount of these scholarships range from $1000/year to $1370/year. These scholarships are intended to mainly cover student expenses related to room, board, and transportation. During 2020-21 academic year 38 scholarships were continued for undergraduate students who carried over their scholarships from 2019-20, while 14 new awardees are selected. The list of our generous alumni without their sponsorship commitment this program cannot run:

# Alumni Sponsored # Alumni Sponsored
1 Naresh Vashisht 20 9 Shishir Agrawal 1
2 Avinash Ahuja 10 10 Yugal Gupta 4
3 Suresh Chugh 4 11 Mahendra Verma 2
4 Mohinder Gulati 1 12 Atul Arya 1
5 Pramod Thakur 1 13 Sriram Muralidharan 1
6 Jitender Tuli 1 14 Raj Prasad 1
7 Dipak Sarkar 1 15 Bijay Banthia 2
8 Zoeb Mogri 1 16 Rana Roy 1

List of newly qualified students for ISMAANA scholarship 2020-21

Sl. No. Name of students CGPA/AIR Rank Scholarship Sponsor
1 Akash Kumar 9.36 Peggy and Avinash Ahuja
2 Tanushree Sinha 7.39 Rana S Roy
3 Aman Sharma 9.39 Peggy and Avinash Ahuja
4 Sumit Kumar Mudi 8.84 Naresh Vashisht Foundation
5 Avinesh Pratap Singh 2888 Naresh Vashisht Foundation
6 Brijesh Kumar 3537 Peggy and Avinash Ahuja
7 Prakhar Shukla 13320 Peggy and Avinash Ahuja
8 Aman Kumar 3556 Peggy and Avinash Ahuja
9 Palash Bagora 4332 Naresh Vashisht Foundation
10 Omkar Vinod Bante 9996 Naresh Vashisht Foundation
11 Aniket Kumar Roy 10692 Naresh Vashisht Foundation
12 Shivam Kumar Rai 11890 Naresh Vashisht Foundation
13 Harsh Chhaparia 12046 Mahendra Verma Scholarship
14 Harsh Raj 13553 Chugh Family Foundation

Ishwar Singh (PE’70) is starting a $3000/year scholarship in the Petroleum Engineering Department of Texas A & M University (TAMU) for an IIT (ISM) graduate pursuing Master’s or PhD degree program at TAMU. The scholarship is scheduled to be in effect starting Fall semester 2021.
If you need more information about these scholarships or would like to sponsor additional scholarships, please call Dipak Sarkar at 714 826-2810 or write to